Four Nautical Gifts I Wish I’d Received

I’m not a naturally acquisitive person, and I’m glad the holidays didn’t introduce too much stuff into my house, but I’m still waiting for these unique items to enrich my boating life…

These LED, bluetooth enabled bracelets always tell you which way is port and starboard.  Not to say that I don't know these things, but every now and then a fellow gets confused.

These LED, bluetooth enabled bracelets always tell you which way is port and starboard. Not to say that I don’t know these things, but every now and then a fellow needs a reminder.

I'm still waiting for the James McMullen poster series to be printed.  For now you can see them all at: http://forum.woodenboat.com/showthread.php?168889-A-Generic-James-McMullen-Post

I’m still waiting for the James McMullen poster series to be printed. For now you can see them all at the Woodenboat Forum.

And for some reason nobody gave me the candle boat conversion kit for Row Bird.  Believe it or not, a fellow can get tired of rowing sometimes.

And for some reason nobody gave me the candle powered engine conversion kit for Row Bird. Believe it or not, a fellow can get tired of rowing sometimes.  (And yes, it is possible to build a candle powered boat.  At least to a certain size anyway.)

I know I shouldn't be freaking out, but when NOAA announced they weren't going to print paper charts anymore, it felt like a betrayal.  Everyone else might be happy to have their charts electronically, but for me it's just one more electronic device to tether me to society.  Mark my words, I'll find those rebelious chart printers!

I know I shouldn’t be freaking out, but when NOAA announced they weren’t going to print paper charts anymore, it felt like a betrayal.  I had the urge to gather up all that I could find.  Everyone else might be happy to have their charts electronically, but for me it’s just one more battery powered device to get corroded and hauled around. Long live paper charts (and the fools that love them)!

6 responses to “Four Nautical Gifts I Wish I’d Received

  1. No Paper charts?!?!?

  2. I’m entirely with you on the paper charts and the McMullen posters. (Actually, if I can convince him to give me a high-res .jpg, cafepress.com or something similar could easily make them!) Not so sure about the rest…

  3. you can still get updated charts from NOAA by way of PDF download. print them on a color printer (if not one at home go to FedEx Office, or similar, with the charts on a thumb drive).

    the BookletChart link –

    http://www.nauticalcharts.noaa.gov/staff/BookletChart.html

    i’ve been using Booklet charts for just over a year. they are a nice option, especially for one that sails all over the USA.

    i bet some companies will ‘fill the void’ with printed charts, such as Maptech. the NOAA data is free to use by anyone (it isn’t copyrighted).