Trading One ‘Great Sail By’ For Another

ships ahoy

I’d cashed in nearly all my vacation time to go on a family vacation to Amsterdam. And while I didn’t regret the trip for a moment, it meant giving up the highlight of my nautical year: the Wooden Boat Festival in Port Townsend.

As we flew over Greenland en route to Europe, icy, white mountaintops emerged from the clouds, reminding me of sails. Big sails. Soon, as I gazed down at the frozen wilderness, I was thinking about the great sail by that happens on the final afternoon of the festival, when three hundred boats, from the tiniest homemade dinghy to schooners with 5,000 square feet of sail, emerge from the docks and parade around Port Townsend Bay.  Read the rest at Three Sheets NW.

Leave a Reply

