To the Guy from Bend

pt-2016-1
The Adventuress under sail.

I apologize to the guy from Bend whom I didn’t talk to as long as I would have liked. And to the guy with the rowing boat from Morro Bay who I couldn’t find later. And for missing the capsize demo. And for skipping the great sail by. And I could go on. 

pt-2016-4

But the Port Townsend Wooden Boat Festival was a great romp, that as usual, didn’t turn out quite the way I thought it would or should. As noted in my story over at Three Sheets NW, the festival is like a tidal river that pulls you along in a general direction, but with twists, eddies, and whirlpools that you can’t foresee at the start.

pt-2016-2
Hanging out is a big draw of the festival.

There are so many people to talk to. They grab you. You chat them up, then like at a good party, the discussion leads in a completely new direction. I am one minute obsessive about seeing every boat and the next numb with varnish overload. How did I end up on the water next to the Adventuress with her 5,500 square feet of sail? How did I miss going to the sail loft of notable NW sail maker Carol Hasse? Why didn’t I get to Fort Worden again? So many questions, so few answers, but so many good times.

pt-2016-3
Anyone know the story of this truck and its sculptures?

Next year I tell myself, I’ll go slower. I’ll make a schedule. I’ll check off everything on my list. Then I am reminded that one of the things I like best about my annual visit to the festival is the lack of a schedule, the flow, and the spontaneity. In either case, I’ll have regrets; trying to create the perfect mix must be what keeps me coming back year after year.

Leave a Reply

